top of page
  • ukdaily

Green Lighters vs Red Lighters

It was September 2018 when I found out about a company called Wealth Dragons and they offered 2 days free conference where the speakers shared their stories and alot of advice on entrepreneurship.


So I took the opportnity and applied for the free tickets. One of the Speakers, a guy called John Lee (CEO of Wealth Dragons & International Speaker) discussed about the importance of having the right people around you and the intersting concept of Green lighters vs Red lighters. (This story really made me to think so hard and it has seen shaped my life and how I think about the people I choose to spend my valuable time with)


The concept is very simple and here I will share this with you all so you can benefit from it and have better and successful life


So let me first ask you "have you ever had an idea which you were so passionate about and then you went to your family and friends to tell them about?" (I am sure you all have at some point in life). And you will get one of the two type of people answers, either green light or red light people.



Green Lighters will often say words like "wow that sound great idea" , "what are you going to do next?", "you should definitely go ahead". They are those who are excited with you and help you to be best you could be



Red Lighters will say things like "you may want to think twice about it first" , "but you won't be able to do this because of ...". They are people who make you doubt yourself and your ability, sometimes out of worry for you and your future. (So they don't mean it do it in a negative way, but it could have a lot of negative effects on you and how you think)


A little Exercise for you


As set out by John Lee at during conference, he asked us to do a quick excercise which I like you all to do now.


Open a blank page and draw a line in the middle horizontally. On one side with Green Colour write name of those people around you which you would think are Green lighters & on the other side use Red colour pen and write name of those who you consider Red lighters (If you have everyone in Red then good luck!!)


Those you have on the green are the people you want to spend more of your time with and the one in red you need to get out of from your life. Sometime those in red could be your relatives and those very close to you like parents or family members.


I have taken the above steps and one of the big reason I created the @ukdaily community is to offer you the opportunity to meet many green lighters who are happy to help you reach your potentials


I hope you found this blog post useful and can use the advice given by great John Lee to improve your life and be better version of yourself. Also great thanks to my amazing friend Ash (@beautyisplane) for the lovely photos for this blog post. (Make sure you follow her amazing account)


Finally don't forget to share this post with your friends and do follow my instagram account @ukdaily for more great content. Also subscribe to my blog for more updates and news about my future blogs as well as the London Meetups!!


42 views0 comments
bottom of page