top of page
  • ukdaily

From Amsterdam to London - By Saskia

Hi guys! My name is Saskia and I'm a travel bogger who has lived in this beautiful city called London for about a year and a half now.

How did I end up here? Good question.

I am half English and half Dutch but grew up in Holland. Still, every christmas I came to London to celebrate with my English family. This is where my love for London started to grow. Christmas in London was always quite special. All the lights, christmas markets, and mince pies added to the atmosphere. It was, in my opinion, a place like no other.

So it was decided, after I go back from my travels I would move to London. And so I did. A year and a half later and I'm still as much in love with this city as I was before, which is why I would like to share some of my favourite places in London with you all.

Borough Market

Borough Market is one of these places you must visit once you're settled in London.

For those who are new to the city, it's a massive food market near London Bridge where you can find everything from cheese, to smoothies, to bread, to coffee. Besides this, there is also amazing streetfood to pick up while you walk around. Just a heads up, Saturday's at Borough Market are very busy, so it's best to get there early in the morning.

Primrose Hill

There are many nice parks in London. I currently live in South London, so I often spend time on either Clapham or Tooting common. These parks are great for running, or a Sunday afternoon walk after your Sunday Roast.

However, when I do cross the river, Primrose Hill is one of my favourite places to go. You can easily walk there from Camden Town Station in about 20 minutes. The reason I love this park so much is because it's (as the name says) on a hill.

From about halfway up the hill you can look back and can see the beautiful cityscape. The higher up the hill you get, the more London landmarks you can see! Such a fun place to go on a sunny autumn afternoon.

Daunt Bookshop

If you love reading or wandering around a bookshop, you should definitely visit Daunt bookshop in Marlyebone. This bookshop is pretty well known in London. It has a basement as well as a first floor.

The reason I love this bookshop so much is because it has fiction sorted by country. As I've travelled quite a lot myself, I enjoy reading novels set in other countries. Besides, there are many cute cafe's around where you can sit, relax, have a coffee, and dig in to that new book you bought.

Sky Garden

One place I visited when I had just moved here is Sky Garden. I had seen pictures of this place before, and, although quite touristy, I really wanted to see it for myself. Visiting Skygarden is free, which is amazing, because I think many people will agree that London is already expensive enough. All you have to do is book your tickets online. The best time to go is definitely during sunset as it is such a pretty view.

When arriving at the building on Fenchurch streets, also called the Walkie Talkie, your tickets will get scanned after which you can take the lift all the way to the top.

Sky Garden is beautiful with loads of plants, a few bars and a restaurant, but there are also many people around which makes it hard to get a shot without anyone else in it. However, the view as the sun goes down makes it all worthwhile.

For more pictures of places to go in London, or anywhere in the world or just to say hi, check out my instagram @saskiaoxx or my travel blog

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page