top of page
  • ukdaily

THIS IS MY STORY BY GAUKHAR

Updated: Mar 3, 2019

Hi, my name is Gaukhar and I am originally from Kazakhstan. Below is my story, hope you enjoy reading it and hopefully get inspired by it!


I visited UK via Erasmus exchange program and I would describe my experience as an outstanding one, where I was able to embrace myself as well as improving my communication skills and sharpen my mindset.


I was the ordinary girl who adored 1D, Harry Potter and Sherlock, so visiting UK was my biggest dream. This dream came true last year and it made me immensely happy 😊


I studied at University of Leicester and I immediately fell in love with the campus and the city itself. Every corner, every leaf and flower, the people, rhythm of life and literally everything made me feel so relaxed and lucky!!



In Kazakhstan I was very shy and reserved person, however when I came to UK I was able to gain many first experiences in Life in UK. For example, my first trip to the night club took place in Leicester "Mosh" - 1 word, 4 letters and a million of memories!! 😂


During semester I went to Ireland and Scotland as well and whilst I could talk about them eternally, but "being laconic is the new sexy now" 😂 so I will cut my story to essentials:


  • I walked on the green land of vikings with a dignity, yet failed at meeting Nessie

  • I conquered the Arthur's Seat, but lost on the battlefield with Guinness (yes this bear needs strong stomach🍺)

  • A history of Uisce Beatha caught my undivided attention!

  • I liked Irish pubs the most due to their unique atmosphere and energetic Irish music



I hope you are not bored yet, as I have one more memory to share with you!! I am big fan of "Pride & Prejudice", thus the "award for the best memory" goes to the day at Chatsworth House. I bet my heartbeat could be heard on the other side of the planet when I saw bust of Matthew Macfadyen!


All in all, a girl from Kazakhstan was incandescently happy in UK! I hope that my life path will lead me back to UK one day, but for now I have hundreds of photos and videos which warm up my heart and put smile on my face every time I look at them.



Visiting UK was the best thing that ever happened to me!! And so if you are living in UK please accept my endless respect and love for your country 😊 If you've never been to UK I hope my story has inspired you to give yourself the pleasure to visit it for yourself.


Lastly a big thank to you for devoting time to reading this little but important piece of my life story and do visit my Instagram account @switzuae





32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page